FutureDesignDays 2002 concentrated on highlighting the people with the courage to cross all boundaries in their work. The people whose work advanced the boundaries of what can be achieved and what design can signify. And they were all there. The stage was invaded by boundary-crossing people like Fernando and Humberto Campana, Karim Rashid, Tom Dixon and John Pawson. The event was opened by Leif Pagrotsky, Swedish Minister for Industry and Trade. The audience of business people, designers, architects and students also included a member of the Swedish Royal Family, HRH Princess Madeleine.

Growing interest

Although FutureDesignDays started as an experiment in 2001, by 2002 it had already become an important event whose influence was felt far beyond Sweden. People in design circles and at various university faculties were saying that something of interest to the future had started to take shape in Borås. Compared to 2001, media coverage was much greater. The audience, too, was much larger, and included some of the most exciting and prominent players in Sweden’s textile, fashion and furniture sectors. FutureDesignDays had become an important meeting place for design issues. “They said it couldn’t be done” the theme for the next FutureDesignDays, to be held in 2003, had already been refuted by the success of the 2002 event.

In january 2003 FutureDesignDays was voted Event of the Year 2002 by Eventertain Magazine in association with the SHIE Event Solutions Fair. A few months later the event was voted Best Conference Event at the annual, global EIBTM fair in Geneva. The EIBTM Awards are considered the foremost awards in the event marketing.

Read more about FutureDesignDays 2002 in the book: 2002; In Motion.


Borås Stadsteater (The City Theatre)


Ampelio Bucci, Anders Edström, Clemens Thornquist, Fernando Campana, Humberto Campana, Eero Miettinen, Elio Fiorucci, Johan Huldt, John Pawson, Karim Rashid, Lars Engman, Margareta van den Bosch, Patrick Whitney, Pierre Guillet de Montoux, Simonetta Carbonaro, Stefan Lindfors, Tom Dixon, Virpi Haavisto.


Kristian Luuk

Expert commentator:

Patrick Whitney

Inaugural Speaker:

Leif Pagrotsky

FutureDesignDays Award:

Monica Förster


Esbjörn Svensson Trio, Apan, Mikrotone, Richard Dorfmeister and Michael Reinboth


2002; In motion.

Essays by; Clemens Thornuvist, Marcus Bergman, Monica Förster, Patrick Whitney, Stefan Eklund and Zandra Ahl


FutureDesignDays 2002 Soundtrack.

Featured artists; Jaam feat. Eska, Jimpster, Shur-I-Kan, Herrmann & Kleine, Esem, Hab, Susumu Yokota, Jens Lodén feat. Per ”Texas” Johansson, Mikrotone, John Beltran

Exhibition and parties intergraded in process

Conference in Borås City Theatre and at The Swedish School of Textile
Lounge exhibition 500 sqm
Award Ceremony
 at main stage
Kickstart Night at FutureLab
Grand Finale Party 
at Grand Hotel, Borås

Unique visitors 787
Speakers 18
Accredited journalists 89
Articles in Sweden 49
Articles in international newspapers and magazines (as we know of) 7
TV- and radio news in Sweden 5
Web-news media reporting from the event 4
Countries represented 11
Hours of programme on the stages 12
Exhibiting companies 12

Tyler Brûlé


Tom Dixon

Tom Dixon

Stefan Lindfors

John Pawson

John Pawson

Karim Rashid

Karim Rashid

Karim Rashid